Speaking of Korean Bands Turned Japanese…

Tohoshinki: The Group With the Ultimate Name Complex

Since I did a post on my newfound love for SHINee, I thought my next favorite Korean-Boy-Band-Turned-Japanese deserved a post too 😉

These guys have SO MANY NAMES it’s almost ridiculous. Check out this little quote from their Wikipedia entry:

TVXQ (often stylized TVXQ! or TVfXQ), an acronym for Tong Vfang Xien Qi Korean: 동방신기; (traditional Chinese東方神起simplified Chinese东方神起pinyinDōngfāngshénqǐJapaneseTōhōshinki), is a South Korean pop quintet formed under SM Entertainment in 2003. In South Korea they are known as Dong Bang Shin Ki[4][5] (동방신기), often abbreviated as DBSK; they were later introduced in Japan as Tohoshinki (東方神起 Tōhōshinki) under the Avex sub-labelRhythm Zone in 2005. Their name translates as “The Rising Gods of the East”.

Whew, so if you made it through all that, just know that they are AMAZING. They have a pretty strong and established fan base in Japan right now, and some of my favorites they’ve released are どうして君を好きになってしまったんだろう?(Dōshite Kimi o Suki ni Natte Shimattandarō?), Stand By U, and one of their newest singles Superstar.

Check them out, and you won’t be sorry!


2 responses

  1. Every time I make a post about DBSK I give up on tagging all their names and stick with just DBSK. I’ve always loved DBSK (as five) because of their vocals. That was the very first thing that attracted me to them. And then, well, their beauty. I have to admit that I have stopped listening to DBSK since the split. Not that I have anything against either side, I just stopped. Same thing with KAT-TUN. Once Akanishi left, I stopped listening to KAT-TUN. But I’m falling in love with them again ^.^

    • Ah! I’m SO behind on all of the drama stories behind the split ups of DBSK and KAT-TUN. In fact, I didn’t even know one of them left! It’s also REALLY funny you mention KAT-TUN because they are next on my list to post about 🙂
      And I’m so glad you’re falling in love with these groups again! They are seriously just too much to miss ;D

Leave a Reply

